Grand Prix Motorcycle Racers

Posted on: September 1st, 2013 by Road Rider MCA

Grand Prix Motorcycle Racers: The American Heroes

By Norm DeWitt

Published by Motorbooks (2010)

For anyone with an interest in the motorcycle racing of today or yesterday, Norm DeWitt’s Grand Prix Motorcycle Racers is a must read. The story starts appropriately when Kenny Roberts dropped a bomb – and a knee – on the international racing scene in the late ‘70s, and ends with the most recent American World Champion Nicky Hayden. The book primarily focuses on celebrating the achievements of the seven American World Champions: Kenny Roberts, Freddie Spencer, Eddie Lawson, Wayne Rainey, Kevin Schwantz, Kenny Roberts, Jr., and Nicky Hayden. It also includes chapters on American racers who never quite made it to the international top spot but had or have exceptional careers – riders like Randy Mamola, Colin Edwards, and Doug Polen.

DeWitt carries the reader rapidly along, and the book is filled with the intensity of the riders and championships they battled for. If you grew up following Kenny Roberts and Eddie Lawson, DeWitt’s riveting account will bring you back to a golden era of racing in the ‘80s. If you follow current AMA or MotoGP racing, the Grand Prix story will give you a richer understanding of what racing is today. The heroes of American racing helped transform the sport during a time of incredible advancement in technology and technique, and they remain the superstars that today’s champions look up to.

DeWitt, Norm. Grand Prix Motorcycle Racers: The American Heroes. Minneapolis, MN: Motorbooks, 2010.

Comments are closed.